Vigil’s End

Another young woman lost her fight against cancer this morning.  She was the daughter of my mother’s friends, a couple whom we met in a travel group twenty years ago.  The two of them are warm, welcoming, generous people and now their child is gone.  I can only imagine the heartbreak they feel on this first day of a life without her.

I find I’m at a loss for words.  I didn’t know this lovely girl, but I am saddened by her passing and reminded that life is short.  When I look back on mine, I regret only the hugs I didn’t give and the love I held back in fear.  Nothing else matters when all is said and done, so tell your family and friends what they mean to you.

One thought on “Vigil’s End

Leave a Reply

