Little Bits of Other Stuff…

As long as I’m in a picture taking mood, I thought you’d like to see a few other things.

This window cabinet came from my good friend, Leighann.  She has always been a pay-it-forward kind of person.  She loves something until she loves something else even more, then she moves the first thing on to someone else who loves it.  Did you follow that?

The cabinet is in my guest room now and happily houses a small set of Shakespeare and the most fragile of my children’s books.  (Remind me to read all that Shakespeare later.)

The suitcases below hold a wacky set of miniature pamphlets my dad gathered over the years.  Someday I will take them out and tell you about them.

The little oval box in front of the window cabinet holds teeny books.  I love teeny books.  I have everything from a teeny little Bible to a weathered little flip book from a box of Cracker Jacks.  The world would be a better place if it had more flip books.  (That reminds me to tell you about Post-it Theater.  So amusing.)

Across from the window cabinet is this ugly bookcase.  It’s piled high with a whole bunch more children’s books.  It also holds some little trinkets that seem sort of children’s booksy to me, like Toot & Puddle, those pigs on the lower shelf.

I used to have two of these bookcases in the guest room and both were full.  FULL.  But when Leighann offered the window cabinet, I knew I had to make room. Many of the books became homeless orphans and had to go into the closet…

here

and here:

So sad.

Obviously, I have a problem.  A book problem.  Got it from my dad, who got it from his dad and so on.  My brother might have it worse, but I’m not sure.  I love them.  The books, I mean.  Well wait, yeah I love my brother too.

The landing at the top of our stairs houses my sewing table and guess what else?  More books.  Are you scared yet?

That’s Sergio looking down on my workspace.  You can see better pictures of him here.

On the right is my son’s bathroom (also for guests when we have any).  My son gets two Christmas trees each year – that little one and this one in his room.

This tree in his room was an after Christmas sale item at Target or Walmart one year.  I think it cost me fifteen bucks.  It was money well spent.  It’s small, doesn’t take an advanced degree to assemble and my son LOVES it.  I put it on a timer, so there are no arguments about turning it off for bedtime.  It comes on at 3 p.m.  and goes off around 9 p.m.  Actually, some of my garlands are on timers too.

Don’t be fooled by this picture of his room.  The paint job and Winnie the Pooh appliques are now four years old and the room is really ready for a redo.  I didn’t include a picture of the giant plastered over hole where the doorknob made its way through the wall over two years ago.  I just plastered it last month.  My son has been filling the wall with legos and who knows what else.  I plastered them in.

I guess that’s enough (too much??) for now.  Hope you enjoyed.

And by the way, if you want to look at much better pictures of a much prettier place on a much more delightful blog, then treat yourself to this.  I go there almost daily myself.  🙂

7 thoughts on “Little Bits of Other Stuff…

  1. I LOVE your pictures and I love your house. If you ever moved I would be bummed. Your decorating ideas are terrific and you obviously did not get that gene from your Mother. Can’t wait to see all the Christmas stuff in person. Love, Mother

  2. All those books make me hyperventilate! I’ve tried so hard to avoid the family disease, but as I type this I’m looking at my own overstuffed bookshelf…

    • Well cousin, you’re probably already doomed, but your determination not to succumb is admirable. 🙂 Pick one or two very specific areas of interest and stick with them. Resist everything else! If you don’t love it, don’t buy it! And if somebody gives it to you and you don’t love it, then give it to someone who does! You can do it!!

Leave a Reply

