More Little Stuff…

Don’t know why I’m such a shutterbug this week.  🙂

Thought I’d share some of the little weird things I collect, or try to collect, but am frequently prevented from doing so for one reason or another.

These jumping jacks were made about twenty years ago by an artist named Susan Feves.  The pieces are all single-sided and signed on the back.  They are mounted on thin, light wood, then jointed and strung together.  When you pull the string, some part of the piece (a leg or whatever) goes up.

Once again, I have my beautiful friend, Leighann, to thank.  She gave me the kitty ballerina that started my collection.  (You can right click on the picture to open it in a new tab to see it larger.)

I don’t find these jumping jacks very often (none at all in the last four years) and I am haunted by the few I let get away from me on ebay or elsewhere.

Twice over the years I even contacted Ms. Feves directly and really got my hopes up about acquiring more pieces she thought lurking in storage somewhere.  Unfortunately, she never really responded to my gentle reminders, so I can only conclude she found me a little unnervingly eager, maybe borderline psycho-stalkerish or something.  (Ms. Feves, if you’re reading this, I swear, I just love your art!  I’m not an axe murderer!)

In 1985, at least one of her designs was mass produced and somehow lost some of its appeal to me.  It was a smaller version, double sided, unsigned and of lesser quality printing – still charming, but not the same as these bigger pieces I already own.

Ms. Feves also designed clocks in a similar style.  I have some of those too.  (Pix to come in another post.)

I bought this stitched Guatemalan scene for a few dollars on ebay.

When it arrived, it was pristine and already looped for hanging.  I put it up in the guest room and at least once a week I go in there and look at it.

The bright colors and the simplicity of the shapes make me happy.  I’m kind of a sucker for stitched storytelling.

I particularly enjoy the story of Noah’s Ark…

I got this crazy thing at a thrift store.  Before you go all what-the-heck-is-that-yuck-why-does-she-like-it, please take a closer look at the sheep!  Tell me you find their little nubby fuzziness as charming as I do.  Okay, maybe you don’t, but whatever – they’re mine.  Ha!

That does it for tonight.  Getting kinda sleepy now.

Bah.  Bahhh.  Mmmm…Bahhh.

5 thoughts on “More Little Stuff…

    • Oh yes! I readily confess to deriving much happiness from nutty little things. Thank goodness you keep me well supplied with them!! I might have to do a “Stuff I got from Leighann” post next. lol 🙂

  1. I’m totally appreciative of your love for the “eclective” arts. And I’m a fellow thrift store junkie. That’s one of the reasons your dad & I got along so well. I do miss him. Keep up the great blogs……Like your mother, he is proud of you. And so am I.

Leave a Reply

