Heartfelts

A few years ago, my amazing mother-in-law gave us a box of Heartfelts Christmas ornaments for our tree.  They instantly became some of my favorites.

My photos show the pieces a little larger than they actually are.  Each one is around six or seven inches tall.  They are handcrafted from felt and include all sorts of button, ribbon and miscellaneous trim adornments.

Heartfelts are no longer being made and, in my estimation, that’s a shame.  They are charming and delightful little works of whimsical art.

Some of them are patterned after characters in children’s stories, like Mother Goose (above) and The Princess and the Pea (below).

Heartfelts were most recently produced through Midwest of Cannon Falls.  Midwest no longer mentions these ornaments on their own website.

Although there are one or two online retailers who list retired pieces from the Heartfelts line, the best place to find them is, OF COURSE :), on ebay!  Here is the link to their current Heartfelts auctions.

Many of the Heartfelts ornaments are circus animals, like this lion and the elephant below him.

I would tell you that these two are my favorites, but there isn’t really an ornament in my Heartfelts collection that I would willingly do without.

In fact, the Heartfelts really just sparked my fascination with all handcrafted felt ornaments.  In the next few days, I will try to post some others that I have collected over the years.  Many of them came from the same lovely mom-in-law. 🙂

Anyhooooo…as usual, the hour is late and my eyes are red, so that’s all for now.

P.S. Tonight my husband is watching War of the Worlds again.  I really hate that movie.  HATE it.  It sucks me in every single time and it has to be the most stressful thing I’ve ever seen in my life.  Tom Cruise is jumpy and anxious, Dakota Fanning is weepy and vulnerable and there are things blowing up and people dying and being horrid to one another.  Stress, stress, stress.  Ack!  When I saw it in the theater I was grinding my teeth so hard that I cracked my tooth.  Sigh. Gotta wrap this up and get away from the t.v.!!  Goodnight!

One thought on “Heartfelts

Leave a Reply

