What is Stupid?

Stupid is Cigna Dental for deciding that seven is a good age to cut off pediatric dentistry coverage.

You know, because now that my autistic son is almost eight, he can take care of himself and stuff, right?

Stupid is Cigna Dental for asking me to provide a letter from the pediatrician explaining my son’s need to see a pedodontist instead of a regular dentist.

Gee, shouldn’t we have a regular grown-up doctor send you a letter?  After all, my son is an adult now.

Stupid is Cigna Dental for confirming receipt of the requested letter and then calling me back within that week to request it anew.

Stupid is me for thinking Cigna employees actually work together cooperatively.

Stupid is Cigna Dental for confirming receipt of the letter a second time and telling me in the next phone call that they “just needed a letter from the pediatrician…”

What? Are you high?

Stupid is Cigna Dental for telling me in three different phone calls with three different Cigna employees that the letter is all we need to get our pedodontist claims covered.

Stupid is me for ever believing that.

Stupid is Cigna Dental for calling me to request a written referral from the regular dentist to go with that requested letter.

Stupid is me for not getting names.

Stupid is Cigna Dental for confirming receipt of the referral and telling me that the letter and the referral are all we need to get the pedodontist claims paid.

Stupid is me for thinking it could possibly end there.

Stupid is Cigna Dental for leaving me another message today explaining that we need to send in a letter from the pediatrician.

Stupid is me for not counting to ten before calling them back to explain how stupid they are.

Don’t even get me started on AETNA.

Grrrrrrrrr!

Leave a Reply

