Make Things – Pay It Forward Art Project

Last year, one of my friends posted a note on Facebook that absolutely charmed me.

This is what the note said:

Make Things – Pay It Forward

The first five (5) people to respond to this post will get something made by me.
This offer does have some restrictions and limitations so please read carefully:

1. I make no guarantees that you will like what I make. Whatcha get is whatcha get.
2. What I create will be just for you, with love.
3. It’ll be done this year (2009).
4. I will not give you any clue what it’s going to be. It will be something made in the real world and not something cyber.
5. I reserve the right to do something strange.
6. In return, all you need to do is post this text into a note of your own and make 5 things for the first 5 to respond to your note.
7. Send your mailing address if you don’t live close to me!

Naturally, I loved this idea and immediately reposted the note on my own page.  Three of my friends responded.

Here is what I made for them:

For lovely Leighann, I made this weird predecessor to Sergio.  Leighann has an interesting collection of pumpkin people, so I thought this guy might fit in.

His head is papier mache.  His body is soft cloth stuffed with poly fiber fill and wire for posing.  His clothes, hat and shoes are handsewn from felt with button embellishments.

The little pillows below are for my friends in Washington and North Carolina.  Catherine Thursby of Red Shoes Home Goods was a major inspiration to me when I worked on these.  Thank you, Catherine!

I was sitting at my sewing table a few nights ago contemplating what to make for these ladies when I caught sight of the torn up jeans I had thrown across the chair the night before.

I used the wide pant legs for the pillows (no cracks about the abundance of fabric, please) and the back pockets became the little houses sewn on the front.  Both pillows are stuffed with poly fiber fill and include a tiny button doorknob.  The larger pillow also has a chimney made from a section of the leg hem.

These were really fun to make and took me about an hour for each one.

I still have to mail the pillows, but I completed the projects and have already started thinking about things to make (and people to make them for) in the coming months.

Check back in the next few days to find out about my
Make Something – Pay It Forward Art Project for 2010.

I might even make something for YOU!  🙂

Happy Holidays!!

5 thoughts on “Make Things – Pay It Forward Art Project

  1. Pingback: Make Things – Pay It Forward 2010 « bockychoy

Leave a Reply

