I posted mine.

A few days ago, I received some forwarded e-mail notes from a few of my Facebook friends.  Women receiving the notes were instructed to post only one word in their Facebook status bar that day – the color of their bras.

The idea was to show support for the fight against breast cancer.  Women would post their colors and men would wonder why.  And all of it would inspire conversation.

I happily posted my color and passed the note to a few more friends, but I chose only those whom I thought would enjoy participating.

I saw colors everywhere on Facebook that day and conversations ensued around them.

Yes, some of the comments were merely joking reactions to the bras themselves, but in some cases real discussion followed.  Even a couple of breast cancer survivors posted their colors.

Personally, I think this idea was a success and I am dismayed to find so much criticism of it rampant on the web this morning  (for example here and here).  What’s the point of that?

One blog mentioned that if we had posted our colors, then we should send a donation to the Susan G. Komen Foundation.  Okay, that’s a fair challenge.  By all means, if you can donate, then please do.

It’s unfortunate the same blogger stated that the women who participated in the status update were attempting to be playful, flirtatious or cute.  Really?  I wasn’t.  In fact, I don’t know anyone who was.

He also suggests that posting our colors is actually harmful to men.  What?

Whether you donate or not, don’t feel guilty or silly for participating in the status update.  Don’t separate yourself from those who have money to give.  Enthusiasm and camaraderie count too.

I don’t think any of the women who typed in their colors did so in lieu of donating.  My guess is that a few of them were reminded to donate.  And truly, what can be the harm in igniting conversation for a couple of days?  The bloggers are going bonkers – myself included, I guess.

And that brings me to a blunt reality check.  Stop reading now if you have a sensitive disposition.

Breast cancer isn’t pretty.  It doesn’t respect your privacy, your religious beliefs, your ethnic background, your social status or your income level.  It doesn’t care if you’re a classy lady or a bawdy broad.  It doesn’t even require you to be a woman.  Plenty of men are affected by it as well.

My best friend died from breast cancer at age 38.  Before she passed away, she was pumped full of chemicals and had her breast removed.  She lost her hair, her strength and sometimes her confidence.  She was subjected to every personal indignity that this disease could muster.

I struggle not to presume what she might have done in my shoes, but I believe in my heart she wouldn’t have questioned or criticized my posting that color.  I think she might even have appreciated the less serious, chuckle inducing comments that came from all of this.

Whatever the case, I want you to know that my bra is black and I am grateful I’m alive and have two breasts to fill it.

If this post reminds you to donate, please go to any of these sites to find out how:

Susan G. Komen for the Cure

National Breast Cancer Foundation, Inc.

American Cancer Society

Thanks for reading.

♥♥

4 thoughts on “I posted mine.

  1. Some people have nothing better to do than to criticize others. It seems to give them a reason for living. Thank goodness, my daughter, you have the good sense to recognize this and do not let them affect your beliefs or your good deeds or your sense of humor. Your good friend would be proud of you as is your Mother!

  2. In this society where bras are shown in commercials on TV, on females playing sports, and,of course, in movies, it is a little late to be modest and to be shocked by the mention of a bra or a breast. I am grateful that I was able to remember the hideous affliction of breast cancer through this rather simple action. I didn’t see the original email, but was curious when my friends started posting a color. When I had the aha moment, I thought it such a clever and simple way to get the message about breast cancer out. Once again women have to defend a simple act. My color is black.
    Thank you Becky for your blog!

  3. Finally someone who gets humor!! In the face of adversity or in this case the horrible face of Cancer, humor is in my opinion one of the best medicines out there. I too, like many of us out there, have lost friends and loved ones to Cancer….and not once did I ever get scorned for making one of them smile or laugh.

    People need to stop taking everything they read either so seriously or try to disect it to something it isn’t. I like your blogging Becky, I think I will be back for more 🙂 Thank you!

    Currently I guess my color would be “nude” as I am bra-free! hehehe

Leave a Reply

