Back to School

I miss my little boy.

Yesterday was the last day of his long winter break from school.

I woke up a little bit sad and sort of anxious about how to make the most of the day.

While I stood in the kitchen lamenting my lack of creativity, my happy little boy was upstairs dragging two old foam mattresses into the hallway.

While I was on the phone telling a girlfriend that maybe I would take my son to the zoo, he was constructing a makeshift slide down the stairs.

While I was looking for clean boy clothes, pajama man slid down and started giggling.

I walked into the front room just in time to see him slide again.

He didn’t go very fast.  There was too much friction between his jammies and the mattress covers, so I had a long moment to consider what I saw.

When he started at the top of the stairs, I was kind of annoyed.  Another mess to clean up.  Great.

About three feet in, he got a big silly grin on his face.

And by the time he reached the last step, he was laughing and I was too, so I decided he needed a sled.

One giant box and a few quick cuts later, we had this.

After sliding for a while, we got in the car and drove to Coronado.

We went to Bikes and Beyond at the old Ferry Landing and rented a two seat surrey bike.  You can see one in the photo on their website.

It was a beautiful day to be outside, but the surrey bike is heavy and slow.  Wait…no…that’s me.

Suffice it to say, I was just a tad embarrassed when our bayside path took us huffing and puffing in front of the outdoor dining area at Il Fornaio.  The well dressed lunch crowd got a little entertainment with their vittles.

I could feel the heat in my cheeks and the sweat on my neck, but one glance at happy boy in the seat next to me and I remembered why I was doing it.

I keep meaning to go to that Il Fornaio (preferably not by surrey bike).  I’ve been to the one if Walnut Creek and I LOVE it.

We rode to Tidelands Park and stopped for a few minutes to play, but I remembered that we were paying for our rental time, so off we went.

We returned the bike and were amazed to find we had only incurred a $12 fee.  Such a deal.  I think the shopkeeper was a little bit generous with his calculation.  The full hour is only $18 and I think well worth it.

After a quick bite at Burger King – chicken nuggets for him and a veggie burger for me – we returned to the park on foot.

The little boy enjoyed that walk and his 40 minutes at the playground immensely.  Such a good decision.  It did me a lot of good to stare at the water too.

The Farmer’s Market was open by the time we wandered back, so we picked up a small bunch of miniature red carnations.

I’ve never understood why people don’t like carnations.  They last for two or three weeks, they’re cheerful and they look really great packed into small containers in tight bunches.  Perfect pops of color for your kitchen counter.  Ha!  Perfect pops.

We ended our bayside tour with a stop at the Coronado Cupcakery.  Yum!  We tried the vanilla cake with vanilla buttercream and sprinkles and oh boy, it was good.  It way more than made up for the terrible dry cupcake I ate at Starbucks on Sunday.  Don’t let the glittery frosted top of the Starbucks cakes fool you – they’re stale and awful.  Go to the Cupcakery instead.

Okay, so that was our day.  Hope we didn’t bore you.  We had a great time, but now he’s back at school and I miss him.

4 thoughts on “Back to School

Leave a Reply

