Get a move on…

My husband and I stayed up talking until 3:00 this morning.

He was out with friends until after midnight and I wasn’t even a little bit sleepy, so I waited up.

I even made brownies and fresh whipped cream around 12:30 a.m.

Today, I feel like a zombie.  You know, a brownie-stuffed, glassy-eyed, slow-moving member of the undead.

It’s after 6:00 p.m. now and I’m still in my pajamas.

Husband just went outside to mow the lawn, but he’s still in his jammies too, sort of.

The little boy is wearing the same t-shirt he put on for school yesterday.

We are not fit for public consumption.

Tomorrow we will make a better effort.

I realized this morning that I have reached the end of my rope with our house.

My child has no designated space to keep his toys, so he has them everywhere.  Everywhere.

It seems I am constantly losing the battle over when and how to put the toys away.

I can’t take it anymore.  I hate the mess.  I hate the clutter.

I am oppressed by it.

My husband sometimes gets to witness my despair.  Sometimes just the aftermath.

Today I cried a lot before I pummeled him with my distaste for our current level of piggery.

He feels it too.  He’s out there mowing.

The little boy has two weeks off from school.

I dread the loss of personal downtime, but I do look forward to a more relaxed schedule.

The stress of making lunches, finishing homework and getting out the door is gone for fourteen days.

Hello Zoo, Pump-It-Up and Tidelands Park.  Maybe even Legoland or the Wild Animal Park.

And definitely some spring cleaning.

It’s time to overhaul this life and this writing.

Gotta find a productive rhythm again.

Soooo ready for that.

Bet you are too.

♥♥

P.S.  Here is a link to a food blog I have been reading lately.  While his post this week includes a recipe as usual, it’s about a little bit more than a vegetable.  Hope you appreciate it as much as I did.

4 thoughts on “Get a move on…

  1. I feel the same way about clutter and a “productive rhythm”. I know mine comes from a different place than yours, but the end result is the same; a general feeling of helplessness. I know I just need to put my head down and get to it and that is what I will do. I started the laundry and 0615 this morning and will continue through the day. I might even iron! Gotta move back into the big house this week and then relatives in by the weekend. Head down…move forward!

  2. When my kids were little, I used to despair that my house would never be “in order”. After they grew up and were gone, I missed that disorder.
    Get a couple more boxes or bins, and call it a day. I had one friend who didn’t let her kids have dinner until they had picked up their toys -HA! That would never have worked with my kids who didn’t live to eat. Have a feeling it wouldn’t work with yours either, so forget that idea.

    • Oddly enough, he actually will pick up when I ask him to. It’s just that when we’re finished and I leave the room for a moment, he takes everything out again. Sigh.

  3. Our house was never tidy. Gary never understood why. He thought it would be so easy just to put away toys when they were not being used. I would get the house cleaned up, and then in the blink of an eye everything would be out and around just in time for Dad to get home. It was endless. I think it is just the way that kids operate. Now I have a clean home, but it is very quiet. There is a price to pay for tidiness.

Leave a Reply

