Hang Ten

The little boy just ate about two hundred Pepperidge Farm Double Chocolate Milano cookies.  Okay, maybe more like ten.  But, still – ten!

Now, he’s laughing.  And laughing and laughing and eating Pringles Cheddar Cheese chips.  And laughing.  Did I say that already?

Summer school is going well.  Or at least, it was until today.  The teacher told me that he had a meltdown about a blue crayon.  I guess there wasn’t one.

The amazing thing?  Armed with only that much information from the school, I actually managed to have a very rudimentary conversation with him about it.

That’s not something we really get to do.  Converse about past events, I mean.  He just stares at us, especially when our questions are about his feelings.  So I think this is huge.

I learned that he wanted the blue crayon to write some math problems for himself.  (Why it had to be blue, we’ll probably never know.)

BUT – he remembered and he thoughtfully answered my questions about it.  He wanted blue and he recalled being mad about its absence.  More importantly, he remembered the event without reliving the anger.  That’s progress.

Woohoo!

A few minutes ago, I sat at the table and watched him gobble up some of those Pringles.  With a mouth full of chips, he suddenly looked at me and said “hang ten.”

“Hang ten!?”  Did I hear that correctly?  As if to assuage my doubt, he put his middle fingers down, stuck his pinky and thumb in the air and kind of waved the hand at me and said it again.  “Hang ten.”

Clearly, summer school is a little different from regular school.

Way to go, dude.  😀

I’m all about teaching him anything he shows interest in, so I immediately drew a surfer riding a wave with his ten little piggies hanging off the end of the board.

Little boy got it right away.

Wish I’d snapped a photo of that drawing to show you.

Maybe next time.

Husband and I stayed up really late last night this morning.  I think it was almost 2:00 a.m. the last time I looked at the clock.

Unfortunately, the next time I looked at the clock, it was only 6:15 a.m.

Oy.

The little boy was there and “I want Mama up” was the morning mantra.  Sigh.

I’ll sleep when he leaves for college.

Wow.

Typing about lack of sleep suddenly made my eyes feel really heavy.

Catch you later.

Dude.

P.S.  Here’s the boy.

♥♥

4 thoughts on “Hang Ten

Leave a Reply

