Where did the week go?

Thursday evening – finally cooling off after kind of a hot day.  Blech.  I wasn’t meant for heat.

Husband and son are out for their evening bike ride, so I thought I’d take advantage of the quiet in the house.

The afternoon was a little noisy.  Inside and out.

The twenty-somethings next door spent the afternoon constructing a four-foot bike ramp.

When my son opened the door with his own bicycle, he was very interested in the big boys and their super fast, helmet-free disaster moves.

The first kid crashed and provided an instant and colorful visual to accompany my no-jumping-off-the-neighbor’s-ramp-until-you’re-bigger rule.

Thank you, crashing friend of neighbor kid.  I appreciate your effort to help illustrate my point.

Things are going well at school this week.

I still don’t have my hands on the amended behavior form :-x, but I’m not going to think about it until tomorrow.

The new teacher seems nice and has the right demeanor for the classroom.  Even more importantly, my son’s new aide is spectacular.  Spectacular!

I got teary in the car after talking to her for a moment at school today – teary from joy and relief and more joy.  She has brought music back to my son’s education.

I can’t tell you what that means to me.  Well, wait, yes I can, but I should probably sing it.  😀

When I got home this afternoon, I asked my husband if he has ever considered that autism may be the universe’s way of whacking us over the head for taking music and art out of the schools.

Husband thought I meant that autism is the universe’s revenge, but that’s not what I mean.  In fact, it’s really just the opposite.

I think that it’s a gift to us, like a magic pair of glasses or earphones.  In a way, autism has helped our society to appreciate the symbiotic relationship between science and art and to harness its power to effectively reach our kids.  Our kids.  My kid.  Music is one of the best ways to connect with my son.  Today, the aide told me that he gave up his computer time to join the class in an end of the day song!

Yeah, so, I got teary, because I like the other aide a lot (the pregnant one), but I love this aide.  She’s the right one and she’s assigned to work with my little boy.  I was not surprised to hear that she is almost done earning her own special ed teaching credential.  She’s a natural and I wish there were more of her.  Every kid in that school deserves an aide like this.  Really, they do.

I wish I weren’t so tired all the time, because I think I could do it too.  I think I could be a good aide or a teacher.  I took the CBEST test when I was pregnant eight years ago, but that’s it.  I never took classes and never pursued a credential in any other way.  Life happened and I didn’t have time.  And now I’m tired.

I don’t know that I have it in me to teach all day, every day, but I’m starting to wish I could at least substitute a few days a month.  I love the kids, especially the kids in special ed.

If I could balance some education classes with my son’s schedule and needs, if I could figure out how to get more rest, if I could get a handle on the things that fatigue me, then maybe.  Maybe! Just maybe I could do it.

If I don’t get too intimidated.

I have friends and family members who have been teaching forever.  They know everything about education.  I don’t.  Or at least, I don’t know anything more than how to move my kid through the system without major damage.  Even that isn’t certain until I get the amended behavior form tomorrow.

I also get a little intimidated by the fact that I have now put all my failures as a parent on the internet.  Would you put your kid in my class?  Maybe, maybe not.  Hmmm.  Lots to think about.

Okay, the boys will be back soon and I am fast losing focus anyway (yet another reason I occasionally doubt my potential to be anything else :|).

Here they come and I want to post this, so wrapping up now.

Buh bye.

Oh, and Happy Thursday.  😀

P.S.  Stay tuned for some before and after pix of the little boy’s room.  We’re going to change it up a bit in the next couple of weeks.  (Goodbye, Winnie the Pooh!  I will miss you and your lovely blueness.)

♥♥

6 thoughts on “Where did the week go?

  1. I would absolutely put my child in a classroom with you! You’re a wonderfully warm, empathetic mom. You’d make a wonderful teacher’s aid. Jerry’s mom went back to work, after 9 kids, part time as a special education teacher’s aid. You could totally do it.

    BTW, I don’t think the tired thing ever goes away. . .

  2. Please do look into what you might need to get a teaching certificate. I think it would help to have another focus. You’d be great. Just take one class at a time.

Leave a Reply

