Can’t Collect My Thoughts

Well, that’s not really accurate.  I seem to be collecting thoughts at an alarming rate.  Organizing them is another thing.  I can’t get that done for you, so here are a few of them in random order.

I feel immense sadness this week over the death of a dear family friend.  Sam was 92 and he lived a long, happy, generous life.  He was sweet and kind and the best neighbor I’ve ever known.  I cannot imagine the future of my childhood street without him on it.

Sam was there 43 years ago, when my family moved in, and he has stood by our sides as a fixture of unwavering support and friendship in every moment since.  He was a dear man whom my family will remember and love forever.  My mom is so accustomed to Sam’s cheery smile and casual hellos from across their quiet street, that I know she will miss him the most of all of us.  They were wonderful friends.

My little boy needs to look, happily and regularly, at the light bulb aisle.  I’ve mentioned this before, but it impresses me everyday.

Our first stop at the grocery store is always the light bulb section.  He needs to study and touch and hug and label every globe and tube and “twisty” that he sees.

He understands their fragile structure and he has practiced a light and careful touch.

He says “blue clear” and “white clear” and “mommy bathroom light” and “orange nightlight” and “yellow is a circle light” and “all the lights are white” and then he can move on.

And no matter what transpires before or after our light bulb viewing, I am in that moment, a completely happy, adoring, and even tranquil mom.

It’s magic.  Everyday.

Yesterday, I was surprised and delighted by a small package in the mail.  My sweet and stylish cousin sent me a pincushion.  I don’t even know how to describe to you what a marvelous gift this is!

I have two other pincushions, but neither is totally functional for the real nitty gritty of sewing.

The first of them is sweet and pretty and came from my dear mom-in-law with a matching thimble, hand stitched pouch and attached magnet for picking up the pins.  I cherish the set and keep it separate from the chaos of my everyday sewing tools.  It’s just so stinking cute, I can’t bear to spear it all willy nilly, you know?

My other pincushion is really just a small pillow that I whipped together in desperation one day, but I neglected to weight it, so it’s really not useful.  You can stick the pins in, but good luck pulling them out with your free hand as you hold your fabric in the other.

If you sew, you are likely quite familiar with the standard tomato pincushions available anywhere you see a rack of sewing notions.  They’re very cute and I’ve even thought about collecting them.  I’ve yet to buy one though because they’re usually too hard.  It’s awkward to stick your pins in them.  The green stems and leaves at the top are usually attached with hot glue.  Getting your pins through, once the glue has hardened, is more than difficult.  I keep forgetting to look for a tomato with stitched on leaves.

So (Sew!) you can see then why this handcrafted, perfectly weighted, not-too-hard, beautifully blue, made-with-love pincushion from the cousin is the perfect gift for me.

Cousin crafted it herself with a heavy ceramic tumbler as its base.

She used a bright blue thread to tuft (??) the fun Japanese lantern print fabric.

Best of all, cousin wrote a note confessing her plan to encourage my craft making.  Apparently, the pincushion is her secret not-so-subliminal message.  That is support I can use, my friend!  I mean cousin!  😀

I love it.  Love it!

Thank you, from the bottom of my ♥.

To pay you back, I think I’ll remind everybody right this second that you are the voice behind the amazingly informative, stupendously stylish, educational and quirky, intensely spectacular FIDM Museum blog.

Go.  Read.  Now.  Use the link.  Enjoy.

More in the next few days, but right now I gotta get some ice cream.

Happy Friday!

P.S.  If you like music, treat yourself to my latest girl crush and then treat yourself to more.

2 thoughts on “Can’t Collect My Thoughts

Leave a Reply

