Almost Didn’t Savor It

My son and I went through the self-checkout lane at Vons this morning.

We had two items and no time.

I scanned the first thing and threw it into the bag.

I tried to scan the second item, but I had some trouble.

I flipped it over to find the bar code.

The little black lines were wrinkle-pressed right into the package seam and the numbers were missing.  No scan possible.  Crap.

We were in a HURRY.

Without thinking, I turned to my son, showed him the mangled lines, gave him the package and told him to run back and get a different one.

He looked at me briefly, then took off.

I could see the rack and had him in my line of sight all the way there, but it was farther than he typically ventures without me.

When he arrived at his destination, he paused briefly to look back at me.

I yelled “get a different one.”

I saw understanding on his face.

He put the first package back, grabbed a new one and headed back toward me with all the urgency my tone demanded.

We scanned it, we paid, we left.

When we got to the car, I was teary.

Do you realize what a miracle that is?

At urgent request, my autistic child directed his attention to a fine package detail, understood its defect and invested himself completely in helping to address it.

He left my immediate proximity without fear, he showed no resistance to relinquishing his chosen package for another, he returned to my side without detour and at no time whined or complained in any fashion.

Miracle.

My kid is going to make it.  🙂

Now, if I could just get him to eat a vegetable.  😐

Happy Wednesday!  😀

P.S.  Did I tell you he’s going to be Super Mario for Halloween?  We have a dark wig and a better moustache on hand for the actual day.  I’ll post more pictures next week.

♥♥

 

11 thoughts on “Almost Didn’t Savor It

  1. What a great story, Becky! And yay for Thomas! I think maybe his mom and dad must be doing something right…

    Re: vegetables. Our Evan, now 24 and a strapping 6′ 1”, 250 pounds, never let a green vegetable pass his lips until he was about 18. Now he loves all foods. So you see, no need to worry about the veggies when you have so much else on your plate!

  2. Oh my gosh!
    I just stumbled onto your blog, read this and burst into tears!
    That is just SO awesome!!!!
    WOW!
    YAY for your son!
    Fi X

  3. OMG It is 4:45 in the morning and I am still on Massachusetts time and I just read your blog and wept! How I love that little boy. What a wonderful thing! You are a good Mommy.

Leave a Reply

