October Over and Out

My son took his kid scissors and gouged a ten inch line in the dining room table a few minutes ago.  I took away the scissors.

Right before that, he pulled my big stapler open and tried to yank out the spring.  I took that away too.

Then I gave both things back.  What do I care?  I told him not to gouge or yank.  He gets it.  He hasn’t done either since I said it.

He’s home from school and very committed to crafting his own little Christmas ornaments.  He’s been at it for days, cutting little bits of paper and making colorful scribbles on them, then bringing them to me to punch a hole and string fishing wire through.  He has a small basket of them waiting for a tree.

Long wait.  I showed him the calendar today.  He knows the tree doesn’t happen until the day after Thanksgiving, but that hasn’t deterred him from his task.

Today he cut a circle and called it a hot air balloon ornament.  He dropped it from the second floor to see if it would float.  And it actually kind of did.

The calendar is the reason he’s home this morning.  Or rather, my failure to update the calendar is the reason he’s home.  He constantly checks the dates to see what’s coming.  Each square is marked with “S” for School or “NS” for No School.  Except today.  Since I hadn’t filled out November yet, the square was blank.  He inferred the NS.

I decided against fighting this battle.  I know how it goes and it’s not worth it.  So, he’s home.  And bored.  And making ornaments.  And gouging things.  Oh well.  The day will get better.

Yesterday, I got up with him around 6:15 a.m. and sat at the sewing machine for an hour to alter his Super Mario costume.  We were heading to my mom’s for brunch and he wanted to wear it there.  I should have done it days ago, but I didn’t.

I had to hem the legs, take up the sleeves, and lose three inches at the waist.  He tried it on at every step, clearly didn’t like how it fit, and ultimately told me “no wear a Mario.”

I was behind schedule, teary, sleep deprived (as usual), and frustrated at the intersection of my Project Runway mindset, the flimsy fabric and my eight-year-old client.  Bad combo.  I called it quits and offered him the tattered lion costume again.  And that is what he wore for Halloween.

Little boy drew the faces on the pumpkins and we cut them out.  I confess, I embellished a little bit on the mouth of the left one.  I sort of think the mouth on the right one is more true to his drawing.  Funny boy.

We put them in the yard this morning.  We like to let them wither naturally.  This year, I’m going to try to take a photo of them each day to show you how they’re doing.

Maybe I’ll take a longer shot and track the wintering of the plum tree too.

Anyhoo, running out of steam, distracted by the boy and getting hungry again, so that’s it for now.  Oh, except for this.  😀

Happy November!

P.S.  How was your Halloween?  Did you dress up?  Have you overdosed on miniature candy bars?

♥♥

One thought on “October Over and Out

  1. We had 5, count em, five trick or treaters. Very disappointing! Lots of candy left which I will take to the senior center sometime today or tomorrow. Must get it out of the house.

    Have my Grandson make some pig ornaments for my tree!!

Leave a Reply

