Thrifting

I went to the thrift store at Sharp Chula Vista Medical Center today.

It’s a hit and miss place for me.

It has very limited parking – only three spots right in front of the door.

Sometimes I will circle back ten times and never get a place.

It’s probably for the best that there aren’t more spaces, because the store can only handle about three people and then it’s too claustrophobic to enjoy.

It’s the kind of place that you will definitely be chatting with the clerks, mostly older women with giant hearts who volunteer their time.

If you’re not in the mood for that, you should probably skip it.

The inventory includes mostly little housewares, some clothes and a few books.  Today, the store also had an entire shelf full of Christmas items.

That’s where I found the latest addition to my ornament collection:

Only a dollar for the four of them.

The little boy couldn’t stand that I wanted a picture before he got to hang them on the tree.

I also got three paperback books for a grand total of $0.45.

I wish every thrift store employed that pricing structure.  😀

On my way into the shop, I got to meet China, the therapy bunny.

When I first arrived, she and her owner were coming out the back door of the hospital.

China is a huge, beautiful, white rabbit with a silky coat and sweet twitchy ears.

She rides in a small baby carriage and seems perfectly at ease when you pet her.

I confess, rabbits have always made me a little nervous, but I couldn’t resist when her owner invited me to say hello.

Seriously, it made my day.

When I was through petting China, her owner held a bottle of sanitizer above my hands.  Without comment, I opened my fingers to accept a dab.  It amuses me how automatic that was for both of us.  No conversation about it ever occurred.  It was simply understood that she would provide that and I would accept it, no questions asked.  So odd.  I wonder what a foreigner might think about this new cultural standard.

The rest of the day was unremarkable.

I drove too far for a book that wasn’t in stock, I did a load of laundry, I cried a bit about I don’t even know what, and I had an oddly brief lunch with my mom.  I think she didn’t really have the time and probably should have declined instead of meeting me, but I know how it goes – I like to see my kid too.

Nothing else to report…

This is what the little boy ate for his snack today:

And this is where he put Charlie Brown for a while:

This is how he amused himself over the weekend:

And last, but not least, here is that red pink camellia in my backyard:

Okay, that’s it.  See you tomorrow.  Unless you stop by tonight.

Happy Monday!

P.S.  Will someone please remind me to call the bulky trash pick-up guys to come and get my stinky purple couch?  😐  I’d love to park in the garage again.  Sigh.

♥♥

One thought on “Thrifting

Leave a Reply

