Sandy Pix

I haven’t been writing much in the last few days.

I feel like I’ve lived an entire life and forgotten to tell you.

Frankly, I’ve been distracted.

I saw my doctor yesterday and was pleased to learn that I have lost a few pounds.  It’s not an amount that anyone else would notice, but I was sort of trying, so it’s nice to know I can do it.

I guess the deny-myself-nothing-but-eat-fewer-daily-calories philosophy is starting to pay off.  😀  Woohoo.

I think I can.

I think I can.

I bought a couple of new sand toys for the little boy yesterday.

When he saw me with them this afternoon, he froze next to the shoe closet.

It was really cold, kind of foggy and getting dark, but he wanted to walk to our neighborhood park.

He wanted to use the new toys immediately.

There was no sense in trying to talk him out of it.

I knew from his quiet voice and blank expression that the park was fast becoming this evening’s obsession.

He would think of nothing else until we went, so it was easier to put on some shoes and head out the door.

Truth be told, I was cold and tired and hoping we were in for the night, but I didn’t mind the sudden burst of fresh air.

When we got to the park, I took blurry photos with my phone.

See that big green bag in the background?

That’s what we use to carry our sand toys.   It’s huge, light and has long handles.  Got it at a thrift store for 50 cents.

Why am I telling you this?

Because I think it’s interesting that I chose the bag for its size and shape and weight and when I turned it over, I found a logo for an organization called AST or Autism Spectrum Therapies (www.autismtherapies.com).

So appropriate.  I was expecting an emblem from a big pharmaceutical company or maybe a bank.

This is much better.  I can tote this bag to the park and leave it in plain sight.  Other parents can make a connection between the logo and my son’s odd behaviors.

Maybe it will answer questions they don’t know how to ask me.  🙂

Okay, that’s it for tonight.

I’ve got stuff waiting on the dvr, you know?

Happy Wednesday!

P.S.  I need invisalign and a haircut.  😐  Haven’t let the tresses down in a week.  They’re just too long.

P.P.S.  The little boy has opened the door to his room and probably thinks I don’t know it.  He’s supposed to be headed for dreamland.  Instead, he’s up there singing and humming and talking quietly to himself.  Sweet.  Sneaky, but sweet.

♥♥

5 thoughts on “Sandy Pix

Leave a Reply

