A Better Day

I am back to normal, whatever that is.

And the more I contemplate exactly what happened to me this week, the more I am convinced it was not the stomach flu.

At two a.m. on Wednesday morning, I took 400 milligrams of ibuprofen on my empty stomach.  Five hours later, I ate a bowl of cereal with some suspicious milk.  I think those were the culprits in the plot to make me miserable.  Oh, and denial.  You gotta have denial to drink suspicious milk.

Today, I feel great.

I got up, showered, dressed, ate some cereal (with fresh milk 😀 this time ) and took the boy to school.

When we arrived, I was happy to see a mom there that I haven’t seen in quite a while.

I only had a moment to chat with her, but she has my info and I hope that she will contact me.  Our sons have many of the same challenges and hers is involved with a social communication program that might be beneficial to my son as well.

Seeing this mom today reminded me of the other mom I met this week.  She is also someone I’d like to get to know.

After speaking with her on Wednesday morning, I felt overwhelmed.  I didn’t know I was going to be so sick just two hours later.  When we met, I just felt nervous, and I think it exacerbated my social anxieties.

I am extremely protective of my family routine, so my flight impulse was high when we started talking about getting more involved with the school.  Today however, I realize that getting together with our kids, or with other moms to talk about the kids, is not such a big deal.  That, I can do.

And really, I’m already involved with the school.  I’m there every morning and every afternoon.  That’s more than some parents can do.

And I know more than I give myself credit for – more information, more parents, more teachers and aides, more school staff, more everything.

Maybe I ought to be measuring myself against a normal standard instead of the high waters of my own expectations and guilt.

Maybe that other mom thinks I’m already involved and can help get others in there too.  Hmmm.

Moving on.

I just stopped writing to eat half an avocado. Not the best one I’ve ever had, but better than bananas, rice, apples, toast, bananas, rice, apples, toast, bananas, rice, apples, toast.

The husband is home, still waiting for a call from his car repair guy.  He’s watching Pawn Stars.  I think I love that show.  Some guy just came into the shop with the first ever Sports Illustrated Swimsuit edition.  The cover look was a bit more demure than the 2010 version.  Tame.  Funny.  Someone will buy it.

I’m losing my focus.

Maybe I had none.

Okay, yeah, enough.

Happy Friday!

♥♥

2 thoughts on “A Better Day

Leave a Reply

