Antique Store & Flea Market Treasures

Thought I’d share a few pix of some things I picked up recently…

Beautiful, generous Leighann gave me several goodies when we met for the Rose Bowl Flea Market last month.

Here is a little spoon that I just adore:

Leighann also gave me a very amusing bunny by artist Debbee Thibault.  I love Ms. Bunny’s serious little face, her bright red dress and that heart dangling from her hand.  She goes well with my new beaded strawberries.

I bought the berries in my mom-in-law’s favorite little shop in downtown Brentwood.  They were fifty cents a piece.  I should have bought ten more.

I can’t say enough wonderful things about the shop.  It’s called The Vintage House.  They don’t have their own website (that I know of) so I joined yelp just to help put them on the internet map, so to speak.  Go here to see my review.

The Vintage House also had this sweet little rusty blue birdcage.  It cheers me to own this.  I am still looking for just the right spot to put it.

My small collection of blue and white figurines grew by two at the Flea Market.  The salt & pepper shaker pair on the right called out to me very loudly.

Despite the fact that I already had an almost identical little boy (on the left), I had to buy both of them.  You can’t break up a set, after all.  Right?

I don’t really know what I’m doing with this collection though.  I don’t think I want to grow it any larger.  I sort of like having just this one little corner of blue and white cuteness in the cabinet, but we’ll see… 🙂

At a thrift shop, also in Brentwood, I found a mason jar unlike most I’ve seen.  I stole mom-in-law’s idea of using it for measuring spoon storage on my counter.

I wish the picture were a little better.  The jar is marked on the sides with measurements too.  Very cute.

Last, and maybe least, I picked up this swirly candle sconce.

It’s made of light weight wood and measures almost eighteen inches long.

I was drawn to it because of my friend Erin and the similar sconce that she painted bright turquoise and listed in her etsy shop.  I love Erin’s unstoppable energy and am hoping to channel it myself to make something of my strange purchase!  I’ll post pix if I do!

That’s about it.

Happy Tuesday!

P.S.  The boy is back to school tomorrow, so probably no post since I will be out exercising my freedom somewhere.  😀  Look out thrift stores, here I come!!

♥♥

7 thoughts on “Antique Store & Flea Market Treasures

  1. Ms. Bunny’s socks and shoes make me happy. Also, what a nice thing you did for the Vintage House. I’ll have to let them know to check out Yelp. Loved your visit!

    • I actually found another blogger from the Brentwood area who actually has photos of the store – inside and out – in her post about them. Next time I come up there I will ask them if I can take pictures too. Maybe I can start them a facebook page or something. I loved going there with you!

  2. I like this new format for your blog -easy to read and see. I hope the little boy enjoyed being back at school. Tomorrow your dear mum will be another year older, but she does it so gracefully!

  3. Love the new look of your blog! AND I love all of your fun vintage finds! That spoon from Leighann is to die for–so perfect for you with that adorable kitty on it! 🙂 Also can’t get enough of the birdcage (LOVE!) and, of course, the sconce! Can’t wait to see what you do with that. Miss you, sweet friend!

  4. I have that EXACT same birdcage! I painted mine a teal blue and it houses the Mardi Gras beads my boyfriend and I got while we were in New Orleans for the festival. O and my masquere mask. 🙂 I would love to see what yours looks like now!

Leave a Reply

