Painted Doors & A Birthday Party

About a week ago, I was very inspired to paint the inside of my front door.

I was thinking purple.  Or apple green.  I bought a quart of each.

I was all prepared to paint – supplies gathered and commitment made – purple for the front door and green for the coat closet.

And then one of my Facebook friends posted a picture of a black door…a beautiful, giant black door.

Black!

I think I actually gasped.

Sorry purple.

Sorry green.

It was fun while it lasted, but I’m in love with black.

Here is the coat closet door and the teeny piece of wall at the foot of the stairs.

Those are hand-cut paper designs in the frames.  I’ve had them in a big envelope for years.  It’s great to finally hang them on the wall.

I found the giant “R” on clearance for $0.49 at Burlington Coat Factory.  It was white when I bought it.  🙂

Here is the coat closet door next to the front door.   I think the smaller one looks like a hobbit door or something, next to its big brother.

That’s my grandfather’s cigar table in the corner.  It’s my favorite piece of furniture.  It was in my dad’s office while I was growing up and I just loved it.

I was constantly opening and closing the little door to hide tiny treasures or notes and I love that my son now does the same thing.  I feel certain that my dad, and his dad before him, would both be pleased to know that this humble little piece is amusing yet another generation.

And speaking of amusing another generation…

here is the boy on the morning of his birthday party this past weekend:

Husband inflated six or seven beach balls to give to the guests.  That seemed grand to the boy.  He took them all into the jumpy before anyone arrived.

Hey Thomas, do you want to eat your cake now?

Okay, I’m tired.  Exhausted, really.

I have pictures of his new yellow room to show you sometime this week, but not right now.

I need to get a big iced tea and put my feet up.

Happy Monday!

P.S.  What’s happening at your house?

♥♥

10 thoughts on “Painted Doors & A Birthday Party

Leave a Reply

