Otay Farms Market

I’ve wondered what would bring me back to my blog.  I should have known it would be a good food experience.

I went to Otay Farms Market today.  I’ve driven past it a few times a month since I was a little girl, perusing the thrift stores with my dad, but I’ve never gone in.

I’m not even sure why.  I knew the minute I walked through the door, that it was the kind of place my dad would have loved.

The fruit and veggies are plentiful and well priced and there’s an intoxicating aroma of fresh baked goods coming from the back.

Along the way to the bakery shelves, there is a Mexican style deli complete with fresh guacamole, a variety of salsas, spicy jalapeno carrots, and a selection of other interesting lunch fixings.

I will definitely go back for a meal from there one day soon.

Today however, I only grabbed some pears, a bag of plums and a tall, sticky-looking coconut macaroon.

And tortillas.

Fresh, piping-hot-off-the-stone tortillas.  (Insert glee over upcoming food deliciousness here.)

The bag of them was so hot in fact, that I couldn’t hold it in the palm of my hand.  Instead, I had to dangle it from my fingers by the teeny bit of plastic above the twist tie.

After a quick glance at the rest of the store, I paid and left.  I tossed the tortilla bag on the seat next to me and was all set to drive away, but those tortillas had already filled the van with an amazing aroma.  I had to eat one right then, in the parking lot.  Isn’t that the rule with fresh food?  Eat it on the spot?

I ripped open the bag, rolled one quickly to avoid burning my fingers, and then took a bite.  It was really good.  So good.   So fresh.

I started my car, left the lot and headed home.  But that aroma was still there.

I grabbed another tortilla from the bag.

I was about to take a bite when I remembered the See’s Candies Dark Chocolate Almond bar in my purse.  I ripped open one end, broke off a square and tossed it inside my rolled up tortilla.

The chocolate started to melt on contact – just enough to easily eat, but not enough to make a mess.

I took a bite and immediately felt happy.  And then quickly sad, because no one was there to share that amazing moment.

Fresh, hot tortilla with See’s Chocolate?  If I go to Heaven one day, that’s what I will eat there.

Absolutely.

And I probably won’t ever buy tortillas at the supermarket again.

I am changed.

♥♥

7 thoughts on “Otay Farms Market

  1. Welcome back to the blogosphere! 🙂 What a find to come upon hot, freshly made tortillas. They sound wonderful, and genius idea slipping chocolate inside. I thought you might slip back inside for fresh guacamole to go with it, but the chocolate idea is better!

    • I will definitely be going back for the guac, Cadry! I couldn’t believe how fresh it looked. It was so clear that they had made it just before I walked in. I read all of their reviews on Yelp last night too. A few people said there are sometimes lines out the door for the tortillas. I believe it!

Leave a Reply

