Almost August

The boy is back to school.  It’s hard to believe he’s in 5th grade.

There are a few lingering signs of birthday chaos in our house.

There’s a cooler standing on end in front of the china hutch.  It took me three days to empty out the drinks and pour away the water from all that melted ice.

There are extra party favors – bubbles and beach balls – sitting useless in a bag on the table.  What does one do with leftover beach balls?  You can only have so many of them inflated in your house or yard before they just seem annoying.

And then there’s this:

Every year, it seems we still have a couple of mylar balloons floating up there when August rolls in.  I think it might even be a family tradition now.

July is kind of a messy month for us.  Not only does it include all three of our birthdays and the beginning of the school year, it is also the time when we usually travel, our cats get ill, and I feel oddly compelled to start projects in the house.

The intersection of all these things, piled together with other family birthdays, hot weather, and the usual stresses of a raising a challenging child…well, it’s kind of a disaster for our little family unit.

When August finally does arrive, I always wonder where the summer went and how it managed to take my money, my patience, my energy and my grand ideas right along with it.

Our vacation is over and I don’t remember if we actually enjoyed it.  The cats are back in their corners and seem like they always did, but there’s different food and expensive medicine in the fridge now.

The doors in the front room are blissfully black and the walls around them have returned to white, but the carpet is still terminally dirty and I don’t know what to do about that.

Where is the DIY spirit I had a few weeks ago?  And more importantly, how do I get it back?

I don’t want to be a July warrior, cleaning and doing and making and working only in anticipation of my son’s birthday party every year.

I want to paint and plan and remember that I am capable of whatever I set my mind to.  But how?

I think I need more company…

Jenifer?

Happy Monday!

♥♥

2 thoughts on “Almost August

  1. August will come and go also, unfortunatelhy. Life is short. Enjoy something every day! I actually think that you do.

Leave a Reply

